Promoting Sport & Physical Activity

Sports equipment
Sussex School Games

The Sussex School Games is a ‘mini-Olympics & Paralympics’, giving Sussex schoolchildren the chance to participate in competitive school sport at county level across multiple sport disciplines.

The five levels of the School Games pathway give young people the chance to compete at county & national level:

Level 0 – Personal challenges
Level 1 – Intra-school competition & participation
Level 2 – Inter-school competition
Level 3 – County competition – Sussex School Games: Festival of Sport 
Level 4 – Elite National School Games

The Level 3 ‘Sussex School Games’ event is based on Active Sussex’s geographical area – combining East Sussex, West Sussex & Brighton & Hove.

It is organised by a Local Organising Committee (LOC), chaired by a head teacher, and includes representatives from local authorities, National Governing Bodies (NGBs) & the Sussex School Sports Network.

Active Sussex’s role is as background coordinator, NGB link & vice-chair, with local clubs and groups also contributing.

Stay up to date with the Sussex School Games by following us on Twitter.

Schools first point of contact is their local School Games Organiser, details of which are listed below. For all other enquiries please contact Ed Bartram via ebartram@activesussex.org or call 01273 644103.

West Sussex West
based at The Regis School, Bognor Regis
Sean O’Connor
Sean.O’Connor@theregisschool.co.uk
01243 872111

Southern Area
based at The Angmering School
Dan Jenner
djenner@theangmeringschool.co.uk
01903 772351

Central Sussex
based at The Weald, Billingshurst
Barry Meaney
bmeaney@theweald.org.uk
01403 787200

Crawley
based at Thomas Bennett Community College, Crawley
Steven Hand
sgo@thomasbennett-tkat.org
07732 471127

Mid Sussex
based at St Pauls Catholic College, Burgess Hill
Holly Prescott/Mike Hart
hprescott@stpaulscc.co.uk
mhart@stpaulscc.co.uk
01444 873898

Brighton & Hove
based at Brighton & Hove City Council
Emma Greenough
emma.greenough@brighton-hove.gov.uk
01273 292569

North Wealden
based at Beacon Academy, Crowborough
Tracy Lewis
t.lewis@beacon-academy.org
01892 603000 ext. 121

South Downs
based at Hailsham Community College
Liz Price
pricee@hccat.net
01323 444513

Hastings & Rother
based at The Hastings Academy
Teresa Bennett
t.bennett@hasla.org.uk
01424 446247

For more information please contact:

Edward Bartram

Edward Bartram

Events Officer

01273 644103

Ed delivers the Sussex Sports Awards, School Games, Parallel Youth Games & Active Sussex Network meetings, Annual Partner Conference & AGM.